Auberge du Pêcheur is more recent than the Leie landscape, of course, but in the meantime it has become part of it. We definitely intend to make sure that our guests feel at home here now and for a very long time to come.


FEELING AT HOME AT THE LEIE

Many guests have been welcomed at the Pêcheur since 1924. That year, the De Clercq family opened a café annex pancake bistro by the Leieriverbank. There were also four guest rooms upstairs, rented to passers-by. In no time the establishment became a popular meeting point for artists finding inspiration from the Leie but also for many others. Visitors used a bike, coaches and boats to relax in this area. Four years after its opening, the first private bus line between Ghent and Deurle had its terminus here.

AUTHENTICITY AS THEME

Partially out of sheer necessity, a new chapter began in 1960. As a result of the success of the Auberge du Pêcheur, the original building had become far too small. A new wing was built to address this issue. In 1986, thorough renovation works were carried out, fortunately preserving the authenticity of the entire premises. The number of rooms was raised to sixteen, seminar facilities were installed and a multifunctional party hall was also made available to guests.


The atmosphere of the main building hasn't been touched ever since. However, three villas next to the original building underwent thorough renovation in the proved Auberge style in order to accommodate sixteen extra rooms. The combination of meeting and seminar rooms appears to be a bull's eye, as it guarantees privacy for associations who desire to rent the villas as a whole for their activities.

© 2014 | Disclaimer | Photography Hilde Verbeke

Webdesign | Flockdesign | Ronse

© 2014 | Disclaimer | Photography Hilde Verbeke

Webdesign | Flockdesign | Ronse

Si l'Auberge du Pêcheur est plus récente que le paysage de la Lys, de nos jours elle en fait néanmoins bien partie. Et c'est notre ambition d’offrir à nos hôtes un lieu de détente pendant de nombreuses années encore.


UN LIEU DE SEJOUR PRES DE LA LYS

Beaucoup d'hôtes ont séjourné à l’Auberge du Pêcheur depuis 1924, lorsque la famille De Clercq a ouvert un café avec crêperie au bord de la Lys. Les visiteurs pouvaient louer une des quatre chambres au-dessus du café. L'établissement est bientôt devenu un lieu de rendez-vous populaire et de point de chute d’artistes qui trouvaient leur inspiration sur les rives de la Lys. Les visiteurs utilisaient des bicyclettes, des charrettes et des bateaux pour se détendre. Quatre années après l'ouverture de l'établissement, le terminus de la première ligne d'autobus privé entre Gand et Deurle se trouvait ici.

L'AUTHENTICITE COMME FIL ROUGE

C’est un peu par nécessité qu’un nouveau chapitre a été ouvert en 1960. Le succès de l'Auberge du Pêcheur a rendu trop exigu le bâtiment original. La construction d'une nouvelle aile a donc été nécessaire. En 1986, de grands travaux de rénovation ont été effectués sans toucher à l'authenticité de l'immeuble. Il y a seize chambres pour les hôtes. Des salles équipées pour des réunions ont alors été proposées pour la première fois, et les invités pouvaient dorénavant profiter d'une salle de fête polyvalente.


L’immeuble principal n'a plus subi de transformations. Dans trois villas à côté de l'immeuble original, seize nouvelles chambres ont été aménagées dans le même style que celles de l'Auberge. Ces villas ont fait l’objet d’aménagements importants. La combinaison avec des salles de réunion a été judicieuse car cette formule garantit le caractère privé des réunions d'associations qui préfèrent louer l'ensemble pour leurs activités.

© 2014 | Disclaimer | Photography Hilde Verbeke

Webdesign | Flockdesign | Ronse

© 2014 | Disclaimer | Photography Hilde Verbeke

Webdesign | Flockdesign | Ronse